Clean Sweep Live Auction on Wed. May 1st. Click to view the full inventory

DOTmed Home MRI Oncology Ultrasound Molecular Imaging X-Ray Cardiology Health IT Business Affairs
News Home Parts & Service Operating Room CT Women's Health Proton Therapy Endoscopy HTMs Pediatrics
Endroit courant :
> This Story

starstarstarstarstar (1)
Ouverture ou Registre to rate this News Story
Forward Printable StoryPrint Send us your Comments




More Industry Headlines

Improving surgical outcomes by imaging head and neck tumors in real time Researchers use tech developed by Perimeter Medical Imaging

Future-ready medical devices - Answering the current and future needs of patients and users

Mastering microbes in the healthcare setting Killing bacteria, chemical-free

Louisiana getting $14 million Center for Molecular Imaging and Therapy Increasing research opportunities, collaboration and radiopharmaceuticals

Fivefold difference found in Medicaid reimbursements for radiotherapy May limit access to healthcare, especially in rural areas

First ultra high-res CT scan performed on US patient Scanner at UC Davis can image anatomy as small as 150 microns

Aidoc announces $27 million in VC funding to advance AI in imaging Brings company's total funding to $40 million

Innovations sparking quantum leap in remote cardiac monitoring technology A look at where we've been and where we're heading

Canon's Vital Images wins DoD contract Maximum $100 million fixed‐price contract for radiology and imaging systems

Joint Commission fluoro mandate may confuse providers, say experts Requires max exposure rates of imaging modes for fluroscopy devices

Le CMS a proposé des règles sur des catégories de criblage pour la fraude, la perte et l'abus

par Astrid Fiano , DOTmed News Writer
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has issued proposed rules to implement provisions of the Affordable Care Act, establishing procedures to address waste, fraud and abuse by screening providers of medical services and suppliers in the Medicare, Medicaid or CHIP programs.

CMS is specifically proposing to create designated provider and supplier categories that would be subject to certain screening procedures, based on CMS' assessment of the fraud, waste and abuse risk in the provider/supplier category.

Story Continues Below Advertisement

Servicing GE Nuclear Medicine equipment with OEM trained engineers

We offer full service contracts, PM contracts, rapid response, time and material,camera relocation. Nuclear medicine equipment service provider since 1975. Click or call now for more information 800 96 NUMED

The agency plans to designate categories of providers/suppliers with three levels of risk: "limited," "moderate" and "high." Each provider/supplier category will be assigned to one of the three levels. CMS will then set screening procedures applicable to each risk level.

The risk Levels

CMS proposes that the limited level should include physicians; nonphysician practitioners; medical clinics; group practices; a provider or supplier publicly traded on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) or the National Association of Securities Dealers Automated Quotation System (NASDAQ); ambulatory surgical centers; end-stage renal disease facilities; federally qualified health centers; histocompatibility laboratories; hospitals, including critical access hospitals; Indian Health Service facilities; mammography screening centers; organ procurement organizations; mass immunization roster billers, portable X-ray suppliers; religious nonmedical health care institutions; rural health clinics; radiation therapy centers; public or government owned or affiliated ambulance services suppliers; and skilled nursing facilities.

The moderate level of category would include: nonpublic, non-government owned or affiliated ambulance service suppliers; community mental health centers; comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities; hospice organizations; IDTFs; and independent clinical laboratories. CMS states that the higher risk is due to the ability of such suppliers to "easily enter a line or business without clinical or business experience, for example by leasing minimal office space and equipment."

The high level category would include (unless publicly traded on the NYSE or NASDAQ), newly enrolling home health agencies and suppliers of durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies (DMEPOS), which CMS has identified as especially vulnerable to improper payments.

The screening procedures

The procedures in the proposed rule include:
  Pages: 1 - 2 >>


Développez la notoriété de votre marque
Enchères + Ventes Privées
Obtenir le meilleur prix
Acheter des équipement / pièces
Trouver le meilleur prix
Infos du jour
Lire Les dernières nouvelles
Consulter tous les utilisateurs DOTmed
Éthique concernant DOTmed
Voir notre programme d'éthique
L'or partie le programme de fournisseur
Recevoir des demandes PH
Programme de marchand de service d'or
Recevoir des demandes
Fournisseurs de soins de santé
Voir tous les outils des HCP (abréviation pour les professionnels de la santé)
Les travaux/Formation
Trouver / combler un poste
Parts Hunter +EasyPay
Obtenir des devis de pièces
Certification Récentes
Voir les utilisateurs récemment certifiés
Evaluation Récentes
Voir les utilisateurs récemment certifiés
Central de location
Louer de l’équipement à moindre prix
Vendre des équipements / pièces
Obtenir le maximum d'argent
Service le forum de techniciens
Trouver de l'aide et des conseils
Simple demande de propositions
Obtenir des devis pour des appareils
Expo Virtuelle
Trouver des services d'appareils
L'Access et l'utilisation de cet emplacement est sujet aux modalités et aux conditions du notre de nos MENTIONS LEGALES & DONNEES PERSONELLES
Propriété de et classe des propriétaires DOTmedà .com, inc. Copyright ©2001-2019 DOTmed.com, Inc.